Skip To Main Content

Menu Trigger Container

Location

Container

Menu Trigger Container

I Want To

Horizontal Nav

Breadcrumb

Counseling

Find Your Counselor

Students are assigned a Teacher Advisement (TA) class, usually scheduled on Mondays. Each TA class is linked to a specific counselor through its Teacher Advisor. Parents and students can identify the associated counselor for a TA class by referring to the SVHS Counseling Units 2023-2024 document.

Counseling Team

Ila Laguercia: ila.laguercia@simivalleyusd.org

Tiffany Nesterenko: tiffany.nesterenko@simivalleyusd.org

Alejandro Rodriguez: alejandro.rodriguez@simivalleyusd.org

Christopher Schurer: christopher.schurer@simivalleyusd.org

Lana Wastell: lana.wastell@simivalleyusd.org

College & Career Center

Alfonso Ruiz: alfonso.ruiz@simivalleyusd.org

Front Desk Team

Registrar: Beth Hankins beth.hankins@simivalleyusd.org 

Secretary: Cathy Alfano cathy.alfano@simivalleyusd.org

Contact

Counseling Office: (805) 577-1400 (Press 2)

Counseling Fax: (805) 520-6633 

Additional Counseling Programs & Support

School Psychologist (Special Education Services & Evaluation): Jake Goodrich: jake.goodrich@simivalleyusd.org

For detailed information regarding Special Education (IEP) and Section 504, visit SVUSD Office of Student Support Service.

Our Mission

Working in partnership with parents, students, teachers and administrators; our mission is to provide a comprehensive counseling program that attends to the needs of all students. We support students through responsive and developmental services such as personal and social counseling, academic guidance and support, career exploration, college planning, and student and family advocacy.

Our Role

The Counseling Team is an integral and vital component in the development of the academic and personal goals of all students. We plan, implement, and evaluate a counseling program that includes academic, career, personal, and social development for all students. 

Counselors are available to assist students and parents with:

  • Making appropriate decisions relative to educational and vocational objectives, school programs, and relationships with teachers, administrators, and other pupils.

  • Work with students to develop competencies in the areas of educational, personal, and vocational development.
  • Through individual and group presentations, help students select appropriate courses, and plan for post-secondary education or training required to reach their career goals.
  • All students are connected to a comprehensive system of support services, activities, and opportunities at Simi Valley or within the community that can help them achieve their goals.

Calendar

May 2024
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Apr 28
Mon, Apr 29
Wed, May 1
Thu, May 2
Sat, May 4
Sun, May 5
Mon, May 6
Tue, May 7
Wed, May 8
Thu, May 9
Fri, May 10
Sat, May 11
Sun, May 12
Mon, May 13
Wed, May 15
Thu, May 16
Fri, May 17
Sat, May 18
Sun, May 19
Mon, May 20
Tue, May 21
Thu, May 23
Fri, May 24
Sat, May 25
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1