From the Principal's Desk School of Choice News About Our School Mission Statement and Schoolwide Learning Goals School Report Card Pioneer Tradition Required Forms & Updates for 2019-2020 'Aeries' Information Our Staff Attendance & Bell Schedules Policies and Procedures Health Office Disaster Preparedness Directions to the School Pioneer Alumni PTSA Staff Resources
Counseling Graduation Requirements Registration New Student Enrollment Naviance Volunteer Opportunities Dual Enrollment - Moorpark College Transcripts & Diplomas Resources Parent Workshops Course Change Procedure College & Career Center Career Pathways
Pathways: An Overview Biotechnology Automotive Systems Diagnostics, Service, and Repair Cabinetry, Millwork, and Woodworking Dance and Choreography Entrepreneurship/Self-Employment Game Design IT: Software & Systems Development Medical Health Careers & Patient Care Video Production Pathway
Faculty by Department Departments Advanced Placement(AP) Testing Tutoring Work Experience
Library Media Center Textbook Charges Student Resources Library Practice Students Useful Links by Subject Librarian's Corner Teacher Resources
Fine Arts Calendar Music Theatre Arts Visual Arts
The Activities Office Clubs on Campus Senior Rally 2018
Pioneer Athletics Athletic Registration Athletic Staff Coastal Canyon League Donate to Athletics Facility Use Request Facility Schedules Frequently Asked Questions National Letter of Intent Schedule and Scores Ticket Purchase Title IX Transportation Baseball Basketball - Boys Basketball - Girls Cheer Cross Country - Boys & Girls Football Golf - Boys Golf - Girls Lacrosse - Boys Lacrosse - Girls Soccer - Boys Soccer - Girls Softball Tennis - Boys & Girls Track & Field- Boys & Girls Volleyball - Boys Volleyball - Girls Wrestling
The Pioneer Webstore Yearbook

Counseling

SVHS Counseling-Pic.png

Our mission:
Working in partnership with parents, students, teachers and administrators; our mission is to provide a comprehensive counseling program that attends to the needs of all students. We support students through responsive and developmental services such as personal and social counseling, academic guidance and support, career exploration, college planning, and student and family advocacy.

 

 

Our Role:

Simi Valley High School students are served by four full-time counselors. The Counseling Team is an integral and vital component in the development of the academic and personal goals of all students. We plan, implement and evaluate a counseling program that includes academic, career, personal and social development for all students. We work with parents, teachers and staff to advocate for high academic achievement and appropriate social development for each student.

 

 

Please click on this link to learn more about the role of School Counselors and watch the short video produced by the American School Counselor Association:  Who Are School Counselors? 

Contact Us

Counselors:
A-D: Ila Laguercia (ila.laguercia@simivalleyusd.org)
E-K & ELD: Lana Wastell (lana.wastell@simivalleyusd.org
L-Q: Christopher Schurer (christopher.schurer@simivalleyusd.org)
R-Z: Dr. Loren Dittmar (loren.dittmar@simivalleyusd.org)


Front Desk:
Registrar: Beth Hankins (beth.hankins@simivalleyusd.org
Secretary: Cathy Alfano (cathy.alfano@simivalleyusd.org)
Secretary: Dalila Van Boven (dalila.vanboven@simivalleyusd.org)

 

Counseling Office: (805) 577-1400 , Then press 2

Counseling Fax: (805) 520-6135 


 

Counselor Office Hours for Student Drop-In:
Before School (7:30am-7:55am)

During Student Lunch

After School

 

If your counselor is unavailable when you drop in, please use the Chromebooks at the front desk to email your counselor, and we will do our best to connect with you as quickly as possible, either by email or by sending you a pass for an appointment.

 


 

 

Additional Counseling Programs & Support:

 

College & Career Center:

Jennifer Gast (jennifer.gast@simivalleyusd.org)

 


School Psychologist: (for Special Education Services and Evaluation)
Jake Goodrich (jake.goodrich@simivalleyusd.org)



For detailed information regarding Special Education (IEP) and Section 504, please click here for the
SVUSD Office of Student Support Services website.  
   


 

Mrs. Laguercia
 (A-D)

Email Me

Mrs. Wastell
(E-K)

Email me

Mr. Schurer
 (L-Q)

Email me

Dr. Dittmar
(R-Z)

Email Me

 


Favorite Starbucks Drink:

Chai Tea Latte

Favorite Starbucks Drink:

Americano w/2 pumps
White Mocha

Favorite Starbucks Drink:
Skinny Mocha Latte
My Bio